Pasta with Beans and Tomatoes

Ingredients

Pasta

The Hattiesburg public library has a thoroughly disappointing selection of history and fiction, but the cookbook selection is phenomenal.  Working through it will probably occupy me for the rest of my time in this town.  Monday I picked up Rose Levy Beranbaum’s Bread Bible (…and there goes my weekend) and The Vegetarian Feast, by Martha Rose Schulman, author of Provencal Light as well as a whole host of other “—- Light” books that I covet.  My first crack at it was this pasta dish.  The recipe didn’t call for mirepoix but I started with that anyway, because for once I actually had all the components in my kitchen.  (Celery is normally the limiting factor, if you’re wondering.)  The meal was hearty and oh-so-satisfying, though the chickpeas did overpower the tomato flavor.  Next time I’ll use more tomato.

Leave a Reply

