Special K Treats

Treats

I am a little resentful right now.  Because all those years I was eating rice krispie treats, I could have been having these.  They have all the deliciousness of rice krispie treats, but with some actual nutritional value.  The sugar from the marshmallows perks up the cereal without veering into saccharine, and vanilla and brown butter give the flavor some depth.  (A pinch of cinnamon or nutmeg could be dreamy, I’ll try that next time) .  These appear to be my own invention; I can’t find a similar recipe on the internet, though I’m sure I’m not the first person to have this idea.  But here goes: my first blog recipe!

Special K Treats

3 T butter*
4 c marshmallows
~1 t vanilla
6 c Special K (I used the “protein plus” variety)
*If using unsalted butter, you may want to add a pinch of salt to the melt

(1) Line a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil or parchment and coat with nonstick spray.

(2) Heat a large saucepan or dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the butter and cook until brown and delicious-smelling, approximately 5 min.

(3) Add marshmallows and a splash of vanilla, stirring until melted and homogeneous.

(4) Stir in Special K.

(5) Using a spatula coated in nonstick spray, press gooey mixture into the prepared pan.

(6) Cool, cut, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

