Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

Some time ago, I was talking baking with my pal Andy in the department, and I learned that he is an avid zucchini bread consumer.  Now, I have chocolate chip cookie recipes–chewy and crunchy–that can’t be beaten, and a brownie recipe that never disappoints, and blueberry muffin recipes for every palate.  But I have yet to find the zucchini bread formulation that slays me.  Then and there, I decied that 2009 would be “The Summer of the Great Zucchini Bread Experiment,” in which our intrepid baker works through reams of recipes searching for the perfect zucchini bread recipe. Andy generously agreed to sample each loaf and provide commentary.

First up: the whole wheat zucchini bread from KAF’s Whole Grain Baking.  This book waited patiently on my amazon wish list for months until I finally ordered as a housewarming present to myself.  I really, really wanted to like it.  It’s not a failure, per se; it’s just bland.  It needed little more sugar and a lot more spice.  I defintely noticed the lack of lemon zest, which I omitted for lack of lemons.  So theoretically, that’s my own fault.  However, I think lemon zest should be like a boyfriend about whom you’re not too serious:  you should appreciate it if it’s there but not notice if it’s gone.

Next up: a Cooking Light recipe, perhaps?  I’ll take suggestions if you’ve got ’em.

Leave a Reply

