Orange-Spice Banana Bread

Banana Bread

My roommate almost threw out my black bananas, but I looked up just in time and rescued them.  It’s a good thing, too, because otherwise I would not have made the orange-spice variation on banana bread in the ATK Family Cookbook.  The extra zing comes from cinnamon, nutmeg, and a decadent 2 T of orange zest.  It’s quite perfect–the new flavors, especially the orange, tease the tastebuds without overwhelming the banana-ful essence.  I used applesauce instead of oil, and white whole wheat flour instead of AP, and the darned thing still turned out delicious.  Now that’s what I call a recipe.

Leave a Reply

