100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread

Bread

I had to laugh when I opened the oven to check on my bread today.  “Overproofed” is an understatement.  I’m a dough-rising goldilocks:  with the AC on my house is too cold, but clearly the deck is too warm (at least in a hotter-than-average Southern July).  The long cool rise is better for flavor development anyway, so I suppose I need to resign myself to it.  That’s a shame; having bread dough rising on the back porch just feels right.

The bread is the basic loaf recipe from the KAF Whole Grain Baking book.  It’s pillowy and tender–perfect sandwich toast bread.  Or nearly perfect; it’s still a smidge crumbly.  I was toying with the idea of making a Project (capital “P!”) out of this, like, “Bake a sandwich loaf ever week until I’m perfect at it.”  But then I realized that I have enough Projects already (“The Great Zucchini Bread Experiment,” “master piecrust before I leave the South,” “give my prospectus of research in less than two weeks,” “train for a marathon while raising $5000 for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society,” etc).  So perfect sandwich bread will be less of a Project and more of an Aspiration.

Bread

Leave a Reply

