One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes

Cupcakes

I must confess, I never really “got” one-bowl cupcake recipes.  After all, if you have a dishwasher, what’s so wrong about dirtying one bowl?  But yesterday, I found myself in an “oh crap, labmate birthday tomorrow, and I’m busy from 11 AM to 11 PM” situation.  The thought of cake mix filled me with generalized unease.  I had a total “ah-ha!” moment and flipped my MS Baking Handbook open to this recipe, which I have made several times before, always to great success.  The secret is not the one bowl, per se; it’s that you just throw that bowl on the scale, scoop and tare until you’ve covered the list, let the Kitchenaid go to town on it for a while, and pour it into muffin cups.  Voilà: cupcakes that even a cake mix devotee admitted were better than the box.

(Topped with an American buttercream, because Martha is kidding herself if she thinks anyone is going to frost convenience cupcakes with a swiss meringue buttercream.)

Leave a Reply

