Blueberry-Lemon Muffins

Muffins

One very fuzzy evening in June (this happened to be the same evening I celebrated the end of comps), I instituted a point system for my friends.  Points are awarded for acts or statements I find admirable, awesome, or badass.  (Example: Brandon knew what a doily was.  Point.  Adam used “abhor” in a sentence.  Point.)  Once someone has five points, they are entitled to the baked good of their choosing, or they can save up points for knitted or hand-sewn item.

Several of my friends passed the five-point threshold last week, but I was too busy to hold up my end of the bargain.  Now I have some catching up to do.  Jon requested “whatever you like to make.”  Now, just about anyone around here can tell you I like to make muffins.  It has been weeks (weeks!) since I’ve made any.

I went with the “big, beautiful muffins” recipe in the ATK book, which I’ve never actually tried before.  The recipe supposedly makes 12 muffins, but I got 15 decent-sized ones.  I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I over-mixed the batter a little.  I’m used to making low-fat muffins, which are rubbery no matter what you do to them; I need a lighter hand with the old-fashioned kind.  They didn’t get completely GBD (golden brown and delicious), but otherwise, they were pure muffin-y delight.  The little bit of lemon zest did exactly what lemon zest is supposed to do: perk up a mildly-flavored batter without clamoring for attention.

Leave a Reply

