Butternut Squash and Chickpea Tagine

Tagine

I wanted to do something special with my last butternut squash.  Specifically, I wanted to do something special that reheats well, which ruled out risotto.  I envisioned a thick, fragrant tagine with an onslaught of spices.

I followed the instructions in this recipe, but I thought the seasoning blend in this one was more appealing.  (Plus, I got to break in my new spice grinder.)  I looked askance at the volume of spices as I dumped them in, teaspoon after tablespoon, cumin, coriander, allspice, ginger, red pepper, cinnamon.  But the smell that filled the kitchen–wow.  Even my steak-and-potatoes roommates were intrigued.  (They lost interest when they realized it had no meat.)

In the end, it was every bit as good as I hoped it would be.  The vegetables were a little too soft–I overcooked it reducing the stew to a less stew-like dish–but it was still amazing.  Scraping the leftovers into tupperware for the fridge, it was a challenge not to lick the spoon.  But no one was watching, so I did it anyway.

Leave a Reply

