Clafoutis

Clafoutis

Ever since I first learned of the provençal dessert clafoutis, I’ve been waiting for cherry season to come around so I could try it myself.  The general idea: a layer of unpitted cherries covered in a simple batter and baked until golden.  So delightfully simple, and so very provençal, no?

I finally made it this weekend, and I have to admit that I didn’t like it nearly as much as I thought I would.  It was decent, I suppose; the matrix was a little too custard-y but the baked cherries were sublime.  Now I’m dying to make cherry pie.  (Or at least cherry galette.)

Leave a Reply

