Samoa Bars

I first attempted homemade Samoas (Caramel deLites to us true believers) last spring, with less-than-thrilling results.  They were labor-intensive, my coconut was too long and under-toasted, and the chocolate was of poor quality.  So I was already of half a mind to to tackle these samoa bars–same combination of tastes, substantially less effort–when my roommate gave me a prod.  She was standing in front of the pantry, looking at the boxes of Thin Mints and Lemon Cremes, and she said with resignation, “I think I’m going to have to go back to Wal-Mart and buy more Samoas.” To which I responded, “Or how about I make you some Samoas?”  Because no roommate of mine is paying $3.50 for a box of preservatives when I have all the ingredients lying around, just dying to be used up.

So here they are: much closer to success this time.  As some other blog-types suggested, I put the melted chocolate on top of the shortbread instead of below, to improve the adhesion of the coconut layer.  They didn’t taste exactly like the real thing, but my roommate had them for breakfast the next day, so I’m going to take that as approval.  (Okay…so did I.)

Leave a Reply

