Mediterranean Barley Salad

For Genia: the barley salad I made for last Sunday’s potluck.  I photographed it with the intent to post, but then I reconsidered.  It’s not anything earth-shattering, just cooked barley and some flavorful vegetables tossed with a simple vinaigrette.  But it is hearty, healthy, zesty, and–very important–makes good leftovers.  The recipe is from last month’s CL, which featured an entire section on barley (!).  I omitted the fennel because I couldn’t find any this time of year, and used chickpeas instead of cannellinis, just because.

The real reason I thought about posting this last week is because it made me feel like a cook.  Not because the dish was demanding at all; but because I tried it and thought, “I wonder how this would taste with the Moroccan-spiced vinaigrette from my favorite chickpea salad.”  I haven’t tried it yet, but it’s those little moments of inspiration that make me feel like a real cook, instead of just someone who follows recipes.

One response to “Mediterranean Barley Salad

  1. Delightful! I’ll make it soon and let you know how it goes :). Thanks for thinking of me darling.

Leave a Reply

