Orange and Fresh Cranberry Scones

When I flagged this recipe, I was in possession of three Meyer lemons and the remains of a Sam’s Club 3 lb. bag of fresh cranberries.  Fast forward through a few busy weeks and I have no Meyer lemons, but I still need to use up the cranberries I bought before Thanksgiving, because I don’t know if they can hang on until after Christmas.  (Don’t judge me.  I’m frugal.)

As it turned out, I didn’t have any lemons at all, and my heavy cream had turned into malodorous sludge.  So I used an orange, and milk, and extra butter, and who’s to say these are bad things?  I do continue to have that “things not turning brown enough in the oven” problem, even with a generous egg wash.

Leave a Reply

